The Kairostone

Read the novel
& author’s blog

Speaking in Volumes

The Kairostone is a sci-fidelic fantasy that is more science fact than science fiction. The story is a dreamscape of creativity and resilience while flirting with a digital existence. It is a journey, waking from the nightmare of history to the dawn of majesty and mystery into real pleasure and the healing power of mushrooms.

What is the story about?

Catastrophic events force a brilliant scientist, along with her AI avian, to leave their virtual world. Separated from the only life they know, they are catapulted into uncharted territory. The girl rises from the role of refugee to revered leader but throughout her turbulent journey she holds onto a secret which could birth a fantastic new reality or create greater chaos…

When the forces of nature create a massive cultural migration, diverse peoples find themselves banding together in order to survive; the resulting mix of traditions and technologies becomes the foundation for an extraordinary new world.

Narration Chapter 1

by Sylvia Loveridge | Composition by Tim Clark

And so the story begins- – –

Prologue

Beneath the surface of an ordinary land another world was spinning. The two realms, different as night and day, existed side by side. In one, people lived simply, keeping the customs of their ancestors; in the other, visitors from another galaxy lived at the bottom of the sea in a state of crystalline elegance, where time stood still.

Chapter

01

Evenor speaks —
I am not from here, or at least that is what I have been told. My people came from a distant star long ago. Our mission was simple: find water.

We discovered this blue planet; then drove our airships into the ocean floor. Beneath the depths we built a colony to explore the sea, as our planet lacked such accumulations of water. From the shelter of my underwater laboratory, I studied fascinating life forms and never disturbed the natural order.

Living in that peaceable kingdom under the waves was the only life I knew. Our world was a nexus of innovation and invention and there we thrived — until the arrival of the Yedek.

Obsidion

Daylight never penetrated the walls of the glass pyramid that sat on the ocean floor. The structure appeared deceptively fragile, made from sheets of obsidian that leaned in — like a house of cards of uncertain balance. Lone creatures of the deep slid through beds of high reaching kelp and were mirrored back in the dark glass.

The faceted surface sent splintering reflections off in every direction. Buried here in the depths, the massive structure was nearly invisible.

The Arayici colony spanned the ocean floor. Long corridors extended like the arms of a giant starfish, half buried in the sand. Linking together the numerous laboratories was a solid state matrix brain. Its purpose – to collect data on the life of the sea. The complex was run by a team of tireless robotic workers. These mechanized calismen stood upright on bodies of blue chrome to serve the Arayici, who had traveled so far to make the ocean their home.

Subscribe to get insider access to new chapters, art, and other early releases. (we promise to keep our email's relevant and brief)

10 + 14 =

"This compelling novel delivers hope in dark times and gives an unexpected look at how the AI defines ourselves."

– J. Brady

"As soon as you open the book, you're in another world."

–J. Campaign

"It's Luke Skywalker meets Lara Croft in the Twilight Zone!"

– B. Ward

"Fans of Narnia and Middle Earth will feel the allure of another world not too unlike our own, yet steeped in mystery and intrigue - a fantastic journey that will spark the adventurer's heart."

–S.K. Kaur

"This story is an inroad to imagination, where we draw the future towards us and find out what it means to remain human amidst the evolution of hyper-technology."

–R. Stark

The Kairostone

Read the novel
& author’s blog

Speaking in Volumes

The Kairostone is a sci-fidelic fantasy that is more science fact than science fiction. The story is a dreamscape of creativity and resilience while flirting with a digital existence. It is a journey, waking from the nightmare of history to the dawn of majesty and mystery into real pleasure and the healing power of mushrooms.


What is the story about?

Catastrophic events force a brilliant scientist, along with her AI avian, to leave their virtual world. Separated from the only life they know, they are catapulted into uncharted territory. The girl rises from the role of refugee to revered leader but throughout her turbulent journey she holds onto a secret which could birth a fantastic new reality or create greater chaos…

When the forces of nature create a massive cultural migration, diverse peoples find themselves banding together in order to survive; the resulting mix of traditions and technologies becomes the foundation for an extraordinary new world.

Narration Chapter 1

by Sylvia Loveridge | Composition by Tim Clark

And so the story begins- – –

Prologue

Beneath the surface of an ordinary land another world was spinning. The two realms, different as night and day, existed side by side. In one, people lived simply, keeping the customs of their ancestors; in the other, visitors from another galaxy lived at the bottom of the sea in a state of crystalline elegance, where time stood still.

Chapter

01

Evenor speaks —

I am not from here, or at least that is what I have been told. My people came from a distant place long ago. Our mission was simple: find water. We discovered this blue planet; then drove our aeroships into the ocean floor. Beneath the depths and hidden from view, we built a colony to explore this sea, that was so rich with life. 

From my underwater laboratory, I collected data on creatures of the deep. Studying these life forms was my focus. Learning this planet’s systems and never disturbing the natural order was our practice. Living in that peaceable kingdom under the waves was the only life I knew. Our world was a nexus of innovation and invention and there we thrived… until the Yedek invasion.

Obsidion

Daylight never penetrated the walls of the glass pyramid that sat on the ocean floor. It appeared deceptively fragile, made from sheets of obsidian that leaned in — like a house of cards with uncertain balance. Lone creatures of the deep slid through beds of high reaching kelp and were mirrored back in the dark glass. The faceted surface of the pyramid sent splintering reflections in every direction. Buried here in the depths, the massive structure was difficult to see. The hidden colony spanned the ocean floor. Long corridors extended like the arms of a giant starfish, half buried in the sand.

Linking the numerous laboratory computations was a solid state matrix — a single brain collecting data on the life of the sea. A quantum laboratory was situated at the base of the pyramid. There a processor created Zero Point energy giving life to the underwater populous without upsetting the planet’s ecology.  

Subscribe to get insider access to new chapters, art, and other early releases. (we promise to keep our email's relevant and brief)

7 + 9 =

"This compelling novel delivers hope in dark times and gives an unexpected look at how the AI defines ourselves."

– J. Brady

"As soon as you open the book, you're in another world."

–J. Campaign

"It's Luke Skywalker meets Lara Croft in the Twilight Zone!"

– B. Ward

"Fans of Narnia and Middle Earth will feel the allure of another world not too unlike our own, yet steeped in mystery and intrigue - a fantastic journey that will spark the adventurer's heart."

–S.K. Kaur

"This story is an inroad to imagination, where we draw the future towards us and find out what it means to remain human amidst the evolution of hyper-technology."

–R. Stark

Chapter One

Chapter One

Kairostone by J.M.Barrie Prologue Beneath the surface of an ordinary land another world was…

Chapters 3 and 4

Chapters 3 and 4

Cord walked the beach in the early morning. The tide was low and the sand was hard packed under…

2020

2020

Clear Vision and New Heroes What are we creating with the stories that we tell? Writers are…

Social Media